A Frozen Heart Worth Mining.

Queen Elsa of Arendelle 

"In Arendelle's fair kingdom, a ruler did apear.
Born with a secret so great, alone, she stayed in fear.
Although the force was hidden, one day she let it go.
And all the land was covered in eternal ice and snow"
-Frozen
"The cold never bothered me anyway".

“The cold never bothered me anyway”.

From the outside Queen Elsa is poised and reserved, but beneath this Elsa lives in fear of her abilities. Born with magic frozen powers, she experienced a traumatic incident as a child, where her powers almost killed her younger sister, Anna. As a result of this, Elsa isolates herself from her family, trying to suppress her growing powers. However, when her emotions trigger her powers, Elsa accidently setts off an eternal winter.

Apart from being one of my favourite Disney films, I dedicated this post to Elsa due to the feminist undertones found in the film. Sassy and independent, especially declaring that although she may live in a kingdom of isolation, she is “alone and free”. I particularly like how the moral of the story is that “only love can thaw a frozen heart”; particularly sisterly love. Therefore both Elsa and Anna are good role models for young girls.

About Feminism Through Cinema and Literature

Hi, its Tia. From Cambridge, England. Avid reader, film watcher and feminist. Studying for an undergraduate degree in English Literature at York St John University. The tone of my blog has hopefully developed into a more literary and critical analysis of female roles in cinema and literature. This is a development that I hope to continue as I progress with my studies. Hope you enjoy my blog and do feel free to leave a comment.
This entry was posted in Women in Cinema and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Frozen Heart Worth Mining.

  1. christinajavete says:

    I agree! =) I loved this movie and thought both Anna and Elsa are strong and positive role models =)

    Like

  2. Thank-you. I really like the way that Disney has become more feminist, especially with frozen, as well as maleficent, where true love is not necessarily only based on romantic love but based family.

    Like

  3. I agree completely!! I think the popularity of Frozen is primarily down to the feminist undertones of the film, and it has moved a lot of people due to Elsa’s loneliness but her independent power to make something out of that where she can be happy. I love the fact that it is sisterly love, rather than romantic love, that saves her. Never once did Elsa need a man to save her. She ultilised her own power to create her own happy ending, and I think that suggests a huge shift in Disney into a very modern way of thinking, and Elsa acts as a role model for a lot of people, and I’d say adults as well as children, and boys as well as girls.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I quite agree. I do think that Elsa’s loneliness and isolation she feels makes her more relate-able as many people will identify with her insecurities. And yes I look forward to seeing more of Disney’s feminist films in the future. Thank-you for leaving a comment, and apologies for the very late reply.

    Like

Leave a Reply

