A Very Sexy City

Carrie Bradshaw

"Being single used to mean that nobody wanted you.
Now it means you're taking your time deciding how you
want your life to be and who you want to spend it with." 

-Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City.
"I like my money where I can see it- hanging in my closet."

“I like my money where I can see it- hanging in my closet.”

In the famous words of Sarah Jessica Parker explaining how she “had never seen anything like it before”- Sex and the City truly did push television to another level. With its main characters never wearing the same outfit twice, the message that Sex and the
City
 sends to millions of women all over the world is, that it is okay to be single. It is okay to have fun. Sex and the City is bold and explicit. And some men were threaten by it. The four female protagonists were honest about sex and they were honest about the humour of sex.

This show has four distinctly different characters, with its main protagonist and narrator being Carrie Bradshaw. With Carrie, there are no rules and anything is possible. By far, Carrie’s wardrobe is most memorable. She tries something ugly and tries something ridiculous, but always makes it pretty. Particularly, this is seen when she takes something masculine and fins a way to make it really sexy. Carrie actually expresses her emotions through fashion. She has become an icon over the years, of a great girl walking the the streets of New York, and is an excellent example of a strong feminine character.

"Somebody stop him, he took my strappy sandals".
-Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City. 
About Feminism Through Cinema and Literature

Hi, its Tia. From Cambridge, England. Avid reader, film watcher and feminist. Studying for an undergraduate degree in English Literature at York St John University. The tone of my blog has hopefully developed into a more literary and critical analysis of female roles in cinema and literature. This is a development that I hope to continue as I progress with my studies. Hope you enjoy my blog and do feel free to leave a comment.
This entry was posted in Women in Television and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Very Sexy City

  1. zareenn3 says:

    Ah! Loved it so much 🙂 I’m a fan of hers too which you already know because of that post I wrote. I’m so happy to be reuniting with Carrie lovers from all over the world 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gloria Zhu says:

    I like to channel my inner Carrie Bradshaw when I wake up feeing less than fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. emma york says:

    Oh my God I absolutely love your post 🙂 and the female characters you normally choose to talk about are amazing!!
    Sweet kisses

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank-you so much, what a lovely comment! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

