The Reigning Lorelai

Lorelai Gilmore

"One day, I decided that instead of being hurt and upset by 
your disapproval, I'm gonna be amused."
-Lorelai Gilmore, Gilmore Girls.
"You are full of hate and loathing, and I gotta tell you, I love it!"

“I can be flexible. As long as everything is exactly the way I want it, I’m totally flexible.”

Opinionated and high spirited, Lorelai Gilmore rebelled against her traditional parents by making her own life for herself after she became pregnant at the age of sixteen. She is the main protagonist of the TV series Gilmore Girls. Gilmore Girls, centres around the single

Lorelai and Rory Gilmore

The Gilmore Girls.

mother Lorelai and the tension between her and her controlling mother, Emily Gilmore. After completing her Business degree at night school, Lorelai and her best friend Suki fulfilled their dream of starting their own inn, The Dragonfly Inn in her home town of Stars Hollow.

As a coffee and junk food addict, lorelai’s most renowned for her witty remarks, often with references to pop culture. Lorelai Gilmore is best friends with her daughter Rory, with Virginia Heffernan of the New York Times describing the mother daughter duo as being ‘unsentimental brainiacs’ who talk at a fast pace. For me, Lorelai Gilmore is one of my favourite feminist from a TV series because despite the criticism of her parents, she always pursues her dreams. By far, my favourite aspect of Lorelai’s character is her infamous witticisms.

 

tumblr_lit6hhyDpt1qfhv0w

 

tumblr_m6aqyugOGG1r4x6r1o1_500

 

"Oy with the poodles aready!"
-Lorelai Gilmore, Gilmore Girls.
About Feminism Through Cinema and Literature

Hi, its Tia. From Cambridge, England. Avid reader, film watcher and feminist. Studying for an undergraduate degree in English Literature at York St John University. The tone of my blog has hopefully developed into a more literary and critical analysis of female roles in cinema and literature. This is a development that I hope to continue as I progress with my studies. Hope you enjoy my blog and do feel free to leave a comment.
This entry was posted in Women in Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Reigning Lorelai

  1. WatchTheSilk says:

    Focusing on all the girly female characters, Loves! I love your template as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank-you so much, I am so glad you like the concept of my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

